Id This Fish Please Question 

FishAddictFamily

Reaction score
I’m guessing some sort of rainbow or swordtail ? Or a freaky guppy colour I’ve never seen ?
IMG_0237.JPG

Greg F

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Could be a sunset platy although they usually have more red in the tail. Many mollies are yellow too ( sailfins or balloons ). I am not an expert on live bearers by any means though.

Lana1049

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
I don’t think that’s a swordtail, as the dorsal fin is too long, and the tail doesn’t seem like a guppies’ tail, as theirs are usually very large. There are usually guppies in just one color at my lfs, so that wouldn’t surprise me. It could be a crossbreed between a guppy and a molly, because the tail is that of a molly and the dorsal fun is that of a guppy. It’s not that uncommon of an event, and it would make sense as yellow is seen a lot in mollies. Very cool!

Platylover

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
It looks like a sword to me, there’s high fin swords that have that kind of dorsal. There’s also the possibility it may be a platy/sword cross as it does look a little smaller than most swords, but that could also just be as it’s a youth.

I don’t think it’s a muppy. The muppies I’ve seen don’t look like this and it looks more like a sword overall to me.

GuppyGuy007

Well Known Member
Reaction score
I agree with @Platylover, it looks like it is some sort of hi-fin swordtail.

Annie59

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I'm gonna say high fin platy.

Coptapia

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It’s a female hi-fin variatus platy, Xiphophorus variatus.

CandyCane701

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
It's a female high fin swordtail. No doubt. Only the males have the sword. She's way too long and slender to be a platy.

Coptapia

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience