Ick - what does it look like??

1. joules Initiate Member

??? ???What is Ick and what does it look like? I just noticed that my fish have little white spots on them, is this what it could be? if so, what do I do? I am new to this fish world and still pretty confused!!!

2. Gunnie Well Known Member Member

Yep. It looks like someone sprinkled them with salt. There are many medications out there you can treat them with. Depending on what fish you have in your tank, ou may be able to just raise the temperature and add salt. Please post what fish are in your tank and how many look affected. ;)

3. Jon Well Known Member Member

unless your fish prefer cold water like white clouds... raise the temp to 82-85 degrees... if your fish can tolerate it add 1 tblspn of salt per 5 gallons... less if you are concerend or if you have any scaleless fish

4. joules Initiate Member

what type of salt? ???

5. Jon Well Known Member Member

aquarium / marine salt. what type of fish do you have? make sure they are capable of dealing with salt

6. joules Initiate Member

i have 6 guppies (spots on 1) - 2 angel fish - 4 neon tetras (spots on all) - and 4 tetras (spots on 1) . I did a 50% water change tonight and that is when I noticed the spots - the water has been couldy and this is what i was told to do at the pet store. It seems to be only on this fish that I purchased 2 weeks ago. Does this make sense?

7. Gunnie Well Known Member Member

I'm not sure about the tetras, so just slowly raise the temperature to 85 degrees for now. I hesitate about adding salt because of the neons? Can anyone clarify this?

8. joules Initiate Member

looking at the instructions on my heater the temp only goes up to 82 on the high setting? Does the heat kill the ick? ??? ???

you guys are being such a great help - being a beginner - this stuff is confusing..........thanks!! :-*

9. fish_r_friend Well Known Member Member