Ich Problem

Jewells

Reaction score
I recently added two Plecos and 4 guppies to my 10 gallon. Everything was fine for the first day then two of the guppies died a day apart and then overnight the Plecos were covered in white spots. I raised the temperature from 80 to 85 through out the day since that’s what I had read to do because it increases the life cycle of ich. Then the next day the guppies had them as well. I also read that you can add salt but I’m worried that I may do something wrong and harm the fish. One of the Plecos is acting very weak and I’m worried it may die soon and the two guppies stay in this one corner just staring at the glass. I lowered the water level so the filter hits the surface harder and hopefully helps with the oxygen. I would love any advice on getting rid of ich

My tank is cycled, has a filter and fake plants just fyi.

This is my first time owning anything other then a betta fish and a tank this size so I’m stressing out. Here’s some photos...

054757CE-BAF9-4BEE-ABA6-07604FFBC55A.jpeg

AF22D146-197A-4435-B0E1-9959BBA552FE.jpeg

Momgoose56

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Jewels, turn your tank temp back down. 85 is too hot for plecos. 80 will be fine for treating ich. Good luck!

Islandvic

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
I have used Kordon's Ich Attack before in a tank that had a pleco and Cory's, among other fish. I was dosing 2x a day with no harmful effects.

That product is one of the more mild Ich medications available.

I also used API aquarium salt and followed the directions on the carton. If you're worried about using salt, cut the dose in half.

Fish all lived in my case.

I also did substrate vacs and water changes every 2 days, to remove free floating ich and ich that was on the substrate.

What type of plecos do you have?

Good luck.

DoubleDutch

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years