I Want My Cichlid To Not Live In Fear Anymore!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by Daniel Martindale, Jul 30, 2017.

1. D

Daniel Martindale New Member Member

Hello everyone. So to start off with I'm just getting into having an aquarium. I have had a 10 gallon for about a year with fancy tail guppies & a zebra pleco.
    But i have had turtles for years. I feed them feeders on occasion and one of the feeders has been in my turtle Freddy's tank for about 2 years now. After about 3 months in the tank i could tell it wasn't a normal feeder but a cichlid. So he is about 4 inches now and i was thinking about moving him into his own tank. I have a standard 20 gallon & a standard 10 gallon. I was just wondering if either of those are large enough for him? He is in a standard 50 gallon currently with Freddy. Also any fish that go well with cichlids would help as well. He is aggressive and I've seen him eat a few smaller feeders while in the turtle tank. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

2. andychrissytank

andychrissytank Valued Member Member

few cichlids can live in a 20g but there are some so we would need the exact species
    a picture of it can help too :]

3. Fashooga

Fashooga Fishlore VIP Member

What kind of cichild is it?

4. goplecos

goplecos Well Known Member Member

What kind of Cichlid is he? The Pleco should be in a 20 gallon minimum, but you should really have the fish in a 30+ because they are so active.

5. OP
    OP
    D

He is a Uaru.

6. andychrissytank

andychrissytank Valued Member Member

He's better off in the 50 but he even likes more space like a 70+. The pleco can go in the 20 if anything.

7. goplecos

They need 60+ and 100+ is better. I would consider getting a bigger tank for him and your Pleco.

8. OP
    OP
    D