I Think My Betta Is Sick

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by EllieBear1213, Aug 22, 2019.

1. EllieBear1213

EllieBear1213New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1
    I’ve had my crowntail betta for a few months now and moved him to a new aquarium (yes it was cycled I have a API master test kit nitrogen was 0 but my nitrates have spiked a little since adding to the aquarium of be been doing water changes every 5 days to keep it under control. ) I think he has dropsies. I couldn’t get a clear picture of him but I found a picture on the Internet which looks exactly like he does. I’m setting up a quarantine tank for him tomorrow to keep him away from the other fish just in case. Can someone tell me is this dropsies? The red betta is my fish the blue one is more clearly what he looks like.

Attached Files:

2. Crispii

CrispiiWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1,212
    It's bloat. How often do you feed him?

3. Sheldon13

Sheldon13Well Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +258
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Definitely bloat. You should fast him for a day then feed him a deshelled pea the next day. Should help.

4. OP
    OP
    EllieBear1213

EllieBear1213New MemberMember

Ratings:
    +1
    Okay thank you so much I’ll try that

5. CheshireKat

CheshireKatWell Known MemberMember

Ratings:
    +492
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    This is completely normal and to be expected. 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, and some nitrates mean the cycle is working correctly. After you added your fish, the waste produced ammonia, which converted to nitrites, which converted to nitrates. As long as it's less than 40 (around 20, ideally), it's nothing to worry about.

You can also do an Epsom salt bath. About 1/4 teaspoon in a separate container per day gallon, dissolved, then add the fish for no more than 15 minutes. Epsom salt reduces swelling and is also a laxative. This might help him as well as fasting.