I suddenly came to own 800 gallon fresh water aquarium but have zero knowledge

1. g

garbn21 New Member Member

Hi friends : I have always thought I would have an aquarium but so far have no knowledge of experience of it. The thing is my dream of owning aquarium realized sooner than I thought when I bought a new house a month ago. The house has 800 gallon fresh water aquarium built in the wall. He told me there are about 150 African cichlids fishes in there. The previous owner was having it taken care by local company. The company is asking me a charge of 300-500 dollars every month to check it once a month and to bring supplies. I will d this for some time but can't afford to continue this. I like to learn how to take care of the aquarium by myself and decrease the cost. Pleas throw me ideas - anything is helpful as I am totally brand new to the subject.

2. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

3. Coradee

Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

Welcome to Fishlore :)
    Wow that's an amazing size tank to have inherited!
    Texas has given you a useful link, there's also the Fishlore e book which has lots of info here
    https://www.fishlore.com/freshwater-aquarium-book.htm
    Any questions you have I'm sure the members will be able to help you with, especially our cichlid keepers, so just ask.
    Don't forget some pics of the tank, we like pics :)

4. OP
    OP
    g

Thank you!
    I don't know but going to read your link. Appreciated!

5. Junne

Junne Fishlore Legend Member

Wow one should be so lucky! Well if he had cichlids and that size tank, it sounds like its been established for awhile! Congratulations!

6. OP
    OP
    g

323.jpg

324.jpg

7. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

Beautiful! Even more jealous now :)

8. Coradee

Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

Beautiful tank, I bet the previous owner was sad to leave it behind

9. bizaliz3

bizaliz3 Fishlore Legend Member

That is stunning!!! I am so jealous :)