I Picked A Difficult Hobby !

1. Marco Rodriguez

Marco Rodriguez Valued Member Member

I feel like every day is an up hill battle with these fish. Given I'm still new to this and still learning I'm rly struggling. Feels like there's always a problem to fix! Please tell me I'm not the only one who's struggled in the beginning?

2. Sarcasm Included

Sarcasm Included Well Known Member Member

Me too! Rock climbing with boulders is killing my back!

Fishkeeping has a steep learning curve and the more research you do prior to starting the better. Research is your best friend and you can do it for 50 years and still need more

3. Cherie G

Cherie G Valued Member Member

Hey Marco, hang in there!

You are definitely far from the only one struggling! Just read through some of the posts & threads on this site. Lots of beginners are feeling the same way as you. I haven't been at it very long either and have had a few challenges but have learned a lot and gotten so much good advice & knowledge from those here with the experience and knowledge. Made it a lot easier to know I can come here for guidance. You are for sure in the right place for help and advice.

One thing I have figured out for myself is that I need be patient & to look at this hobby as a perpetual work in progress. Not in that there will always be problems but that it's a hobby that is always evolving and different which is what makes it so interesting and fun. Plus with time you gain lots of knowledge and experience which certainly makes handling any issues that come up a lot less stressful. Good luck!

4. O

Over It Well Known Member Member

Heck! I've been keeping fish for 12 yrs and I still struggle sometimes. I think most people do, they just don't say it. Fish keeping is a difficult hobby, but that's what makes it so rewarding. Yes, there will be problems, especially in the beginning when you are just starting, but the important thing is to keep going, unless you really are not enjoying it one little bit.