I need to have aquarium drilled…..need advice

Wynell

I have a 200 gallon bowfront aquarium that will have African Cichlids in it. I would like a sump and need to have the aquarium drilled. I have a guy experienced in cutting glass that can do it but I need to know where to drill and how big the holes need to be. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

A201

I'm not a sump expert, but have seen the overflow & inflows positioned near the back of the tank in opposing corners.
A sump system is probably the best form of filtration, but before committing, be sure to research XL canister filters. An FX 6 could easily handle a 200 gal. tank.
I've read many threads about people wanting to reseal drilled holes in big used tanks. Sump systems aren't for everyone.

Toothy

This is the layout for my new CustomAquariums custom tank build. The siphon stoppers are the returns. You might want to check out there site. They have a really nice (not cheap) sump, overflow and return system. I like that the sump is made of HDPE and is virtually unbreakable. If you're not using there system you might want to spread the overflows a bit more.

Attachments

• 505579-CA Layout Back Panel Revised.pdf
    134.3 KB · Views: 14

RayClem

Typically, large tanks are produced from tempered glass. Drilling holes in tempered glass is quite different than drilling a hole in plate glass or float glass. Tempered glass has built-in stresses that give it strength. When you drill into it, it changes the stress pattern and the glass can break. If your glass guy has experience in drilling tempered glass, then he might be able to do it successfully, but otherwise, he might destroy your tank.