i need stocking ideas

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by twirlgirl, Dec 9, 2012.

1. t

twirlgirl New Member Member

I have a 40 gallon hex tank that has been up and running for about six months, and I'm ready to add a few more fish. Right now I have four neon tetras, two algae shrimp and a guppy, which I already had. I want a peaceful tank, with fish that are easy to maintain(I'm a full time student, I don't have much free time). Also plant suggestions would be appreciated!:;rudolph

2. J

JoannaB Well Known Member Member

Hi, what is the footprint of the 40 gallon hex? If I remember correctly a hex is generally taller but not as long and wide? The reason why I ask about footprint is that Cory catfish are generally a great addition to a peaceful community tank, but they need a decent bottom area. Another wonderful fish for peaceful community tank is the bristlenose pleco - be careful though not to get a common pleco because common pleco will grow too large, but a bristlenose will remain small enough. Also have you considered getting some snails?

For plants, it depends on what kind of lights you have, how strong they are. Some aquarium lights are not strong enough for plants at all, while others are only strong enough for low light plants. If we knew more about your lights, you could get better plant recommendations.

Btw, welcome to fishlore!

Edit: I just noticed that you mention you have four neon tetras. Neon tetras are a schooling fish that like to be in larger groups than that, and you will probabaly see noticeable improvements in their behavior if you have a large enough group, so I would say, increasing your school of neon tetras should be part of the plan.

3. OP
    OP
    t