I Need Help

1. Platy_mama23 Initiate Member

I am new to this and have been trying my hardest to do what is best for my fish.

I currently have a 28L tank that houses 1x platy.

I had visited the pet store and asked for advice on fish, tanks, etc. and was told that a platy would be suitable for me in the tank size that i have. now after reading on here i dont believe i was given the right information. I want to make sure that he is happy, i would also like to add more platys so he isnt alone in there.

Is this possible for the tank size i have ?
    How can i make sure he is happy ?
  2. Cheesearmada Member Member

For now I think you are fine. Do you have decor? And you can definitely add a few more fish.

3. Platy_mama23 Initiate Member

Yes, I have a large fake plant and a smaller plant at the moment as well as a house ornament that he hides in at times.
  4. Shadow2331 Member Member

it would be better if you add in small fishes, it will definitely provide some friends for your platy and make it happy, if you keep a fish alone it might stress out.

5. Platy_mama23 Initiate Member

Any suggestions in what fish ?
    I don't want to over croud the tank as it is only small. But also don't want him to be lonely
  6. Cheesearmada Member Member

7. Shadow2331 Member Member

It would be better if you posted a pic of your tank :)

8. Fish4Ever Member Member

Mollies or guppys! I currently have all three in my tank so cute
  9. minervalong Well Known Member Member

Your tank translates to 7 us gallons, so look for the 5 gallon stocking list on here. I'm on my phone so can't get you a link but it will show you options. You have room for quite a few things though.

Do you know about the nitrogen cycle? Is your tank cycled? You would have to add slowly so as to build up your beneficial bacteria and not overwhelm the one platy cycle you have now.