I need help with my gravel vacuum

1. tenspeedsf Initiate Member

I'm a total newbie and I'm having problems with my gravel vacuum. I bought a Marina Easy Clean self-starting vacuum (medium size, 16" tube) and tried to use it on my 6 gallon aquarium. I got the siphon mechanism to work, but it sucked up water only. I kept moving the cleaning tube up and down quickly trying to pick up the gravel (as illustrated in on the package) but the gravel didn't move up the tube very far (only about 2 inches) and it ended up just making a mess of my aquarium. All the fish and food waste spread into the water instead of into my bucket. Am I supposed to continue with the same rapid up-and-down movement once I get the thing started (the instructions weren't clear)? It really messed up my plants, spread waste around and was hard on my arm muscles. How frustrating! What did I do wrong? Is my vacuum too big? Please help!

2. NextstepAquatics Initiate Member

you don't quote lift it up and down but lift it just enough to move it over SLOWLY to the next area to be cleaned keep the bucket as low as possible the lower the ejection tube the greater the water flow.

3. tenspeedsf Initiate Member

Nextstep,

Thanks for your reply. I tried moving the tube over slowly over the gravel, as you suggested, after I got the siphon going but it did nothing. My aquarium sits on my dresser-- about four feet off the ground. I put the bucket on the floor. Do you have tips on how to get the bucket lower?

Thanks.

4. AggieYen Member Member

That should be fine, four feet elevation is more than enough for the siphon to work. What you do with the vac is you stick the end of the tube INTO the gravel - it will not suck the gravel up, but you should see food and specks of dirt go up the siphon. Just let it siphon until you see the water siphoned run clear. Then move on to the next area.

5. tenspeedsf Initiate Member