I need help my fish keep dying

1. cem593 Initiate Member

im new to fish keeping other than a beta or 2, i have a 10 gallon tank that i let cycle for a month before putting anything in it. PH is fine, temperature is right and i have plenty air yet my fish still keep dying and i dont know why. can anyone tell me what beginner mistake i am making i have a few fish that haven't died for some reason the others did

2. Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member

I can make a fair guess as to what the problem is but it will be best if you can answer a few questions so we can be sure!

How did you cycle your tank? What was your ammonia source? What kind of filter are you running?

What stock is living in it currently? What stock have you had in it before?

Welcome to the forum by the way! We've all been beginners before and we've all made one or more of the mistakes so don't feel bad:)

3. clk89 Well Known Member Member

How did you cycle your tank?
    What are your exact parameters ammonia, nitrate, nitrite, ?
    What fish did you put into your ten gallon?
    Did the fish show any signs of disease?

PS: Aquaphobia is very fast lol.

4. cem593 Initiate Member

I used some water from an established tank ive had a 5 gal with a betta for a couple years now with no problems

filter is the aqua tech 5-15

i first stocked it with a corycat, 4 guppies and 2 platys, i have 2 platies and one guppy left and i got another cory the first one died

5. Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member

Unfortunately, water does not contain much in the way of nitrifying bacteria. They tend to live attached to surfaces in the aquarium, especially in the filter media which is designed to hold as much bacteria as possible!

Without cycled media the ammonia would have built up to dangerous levels very quickly and cories are not known for being particularly hardy fish. They're also shoalers and do better with several of their own kind.