I HAVE MY FIRST FISH!!!!!!!!!! What a buzz!!!

Tazmiche

Well Known Member
Reaction score
I now have my first fish!!!!! I am sooooo excited! Have Cherry Barbs, fish store have been fab ( i am so lucky to have great guys to turn to!) i have been cycling tank for what feels like 2 years! They are very sweet and a joy to watch. Am praying that they will all live, all appear great up to now! Any advice etc MORE than welcome xx Miche

JMatt1983

Valued Member
Reaction score
cherry barbs are definately a fun fish to have. and they get along with just about every other kind of fish

Tazmiche

Well Known Member
Reaction score
thanks Matt. I am like a kid in a sweet shop at the mo, staring into the tank!!! they are funny to watch, what to get next!!??? ( when time right!!) any ideas?

JMatt1983

Valued Member
Reaction score
since they don't grow very large, its best not to mix them with anything large enough to eat them, but cherry barbs get along with so many different species, basically your limited to anything that can't eat them, i've got mine in with platies, tetras , oto cat, and a red tail shark, and the shark doesn't bother the barbs at all, hes more interested in the male platy, but wait at least a week to add more fish, let your tank adjust to increased bio load from your new barbs first, then add more

Tazmiche

Well Known Member
Reaction score
yeah, will give my new little mates time to adjust. I'm just so happy to have them here! Aren,t these little guys a buzz!!

JMatt1983

Valued Member
Reaction score
yes they are, when i got mine, i was surprised at just how a swimmer they are

Tazmiche

Well Known Member
Reaction score