Status
Not open for further replies.

tatty_kassy

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Hello!
I am currently treating my tank for Ich and this is my first time dealing with this, I have some questions if you don't mind. :-\

1) Do I add salt or no? I read on here that you should treat with salt, and then others told me not to use it. Do I?
2) I was wondering how to add garlic to the food. What I have been doing is chopping up some garlic in a little dish and putting some of the tank water in it with either brine shrimp or dried bloodworms. I let it sit in the dish for about a half hour and then pour it in without spilling the garlic chunks in. Is that ok? Am I supposed to add it to flake food, if so, how do I do that? I tried and it turned into sludge in the dish.
3) Should I put my ADF in a little tank separately, will any of this treatment I am doing for the fish hurt him?

Thanks for your time guys, so far the one fish thats for sure infected is being a trooper, she's still alive.

Kunsthure

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I can't help with #1 or #3 but the easiest way to do the garlic is to buy the jarred stuff at the grocery store that's packed in water, not oil. Then pour a bit of the juice into a bowl and soak the food in it. I did it yesterday with dried bloodworms and some of the minced garlic ended up in the tank and the fish ate it!

-Lisa

tatty_kassy

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
So it is okay if the fish eat the garlic? I was thinking I could mince some up very very fine and put that in with some food, would that be okay?

tatty_kassy

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Thank you!

I'm still not too sure what to do salt wise, I ended up putting in just a tablespoon and a half instead of a full dose, I figured a little bit can't hurt and if it is good a little bit is better then none. So far the frog looks okay....I figure unless he starts doing something weird I'll keep him in there.