I Found an Abandoned Snail / Need to know if Shell okay

IFoundASnail

I Found a mystery snail and three fish abandoned in a tank that was taped up and literally all brown water and worms all over. The Guppy and baby died but I was able to surrender the red tail shark and I'm left with Edward the Slurm (Mystery Snail).

I have zero experience with aquariums but have given myself a crash course and gone to multiple aquarium stores trying to give this little guy the best chance in life. After trying to filter his original tank and siphon it, he seemed to get worse so I was told by a professional that he needs a new tank, that one isn't providing good bacteria, understanding I dont have time to cycle it.

So, on day three, I did. I got him a Fluval Spec 5 gallon, new substrate gravel, a real plant. I conditioned the water and rinsed everything three times before putting in. I have it at 76F and last night I bought him shrimp pellets and algae wafers. He doesn't seem to be eating the wafers particularly, cant tell if he is eating the pellets. I put bacteria in from Walmart but started better stuff today: Stability by Seachem.

This morning he was doing the floaty thing (I assume to get away from the water he doesn't like), so I took water and photos to a professional shop and the guy said the "General Metals" test was fine, and that i didn't need to do a pH test and stop worrying? I have ordered tests on amazon but they dont get here till tomorrow. His shell looks to me like it's deteriorating. It looks exactly like nails would look being exposed to acid, but he said it's fine. I took more photos for you guys.

Not sure if I trust this. I told him I've spent $200 in trial and error trying to save these guys, lol. I really want to save this guy and willing to do anything for him, even if it takes all day and more moolah. I'm afraid to put egg shells in the tank cause I read it changes pH.

Please help! Thank you!

Attachments

• 20210909_115630.jpeg