I Feel So Bad, Unexpected Fry, Help!!

Fljoe

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
ok so I’m new to keeping fish. I must have gotten a black mollie last weekend that was pregnant. I just finished a water change and noticed a baby hanging out in the gravel! I’m not prepared to deal with babies yet. Do people let nature take its course or is that inhuman?

gandalf1420

Reaction score
You can take them out and put them in a breeder box, it's like 5 bucks at a box store, or yeah, let it take its course. It's the way it is in the wild.

OP
Fljoe

Fljoe

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
gandalf1420 said:
You can take them out and put them in a breeder box, it's like 5 bucks at a box store, or yeah, let it take its course. It's the way it is in the wild.
I will definitely pay attention for future fry. Do people let nature take its course? As a new fish keeper I wasn’t sure if that was frowned upon. Although I would rather raise them and give them away.

Jimmie93

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
It's better to just leave them so the population doesn't explode most of the time a few will survive out of the batch if you have good hiding spots like moss.

OP
Fljoe

Fljoe

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Jimmie93 said:
It's better to just leave them so the population doesn't explode most of the time a few will survive out of the batch if you have good hiding spots like moss.
Ok! That makes me feel better.

OP
Fljoe

Fljoe

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Ridge Chambers said:
They make great snacks for bigger fish :)
So your saying I’m not a bad fish keeper for letting them get eaten? I think 2 made it so far. But I’ve only got black mollies and black neon Tetra in the tank. Once it cycles I will add a couple angles and some bottom dwellers.

Jimmie93

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Fljoe said: