I don't think I can make any more mistakes.. geesh. I'm a horrible person

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by moon317, Mar 7, 2006.

1. moon317

moon317New MemberMember

Ok, I'm a typical rookie. I bought a tank, some cutie-pie decorations, and dumped my fish right in...( I at least de-chlorinated the water first) Then I found this site and read all the helpful tips and articles... Here's my question.. If I now monitor my water chemistry closley, will I be able to atone for my ignorance, without making my little fishy guys suffer?
    So far all water parameters are looking good, but from your posts, I know it is the calm before the ammonia storm...

Keep up the good work.

2. AnnaEA

AnnaEAValued MemberMember

I think if you're prepared to do lots of water changes, and put up with the slower cycling, you'll have the best results.....

Or maybe check and see if your LFS has biospira -- it's a live bacteria additive, that builds the bio-filter really quickly. Helpful Guy at my LFS says they've used it in some of their tanks, to test it, and it worked well for them, and that he recommends it for if some ones biofilter crashes and they need to rebuild it fast because of delicate fish. It's a little pricey though - like 20 bucks. Might save stress on your fish though.

Anna

3. OP
    OP
    moon317

moon317New MemberMember

Thanks Anna!

4. newbie101

newbie101Well Known MemberMember

Do you have a liquid or strip test kit? If you have a strip kit as soon as that runs out try and get a liquid one. You should probably be testing about every day or every other day, and if the levels get too high do a small water change. Don't siphon the gravel, as this will further slow down the cyvle. Anna is right, if you want to you can get a cycling product, they usually aren't $20 though (at least not in any of the stores I've been to, maybe Anna's is more expensive). Bio Spira is a good one, and Stress Zyme should work well too.