I am stressed and my Cory is hurt

genie

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Ok-- I had hornwort in my tank. It went crazy! My cory got two little hornwort "leaves/spikes" caught in his mouth. I was going to net him and pull them out with tweezers, but my husband thinks I will hurt him worse. He said if I just let it go, then it would work its way out of the cory and wouldn't hurt the fish as bad. So I said OK-- which is killing me because I can tell that Mr. Magoo is hurting. Anyway, I pulled all of the hornwort out of the tank, and released a torrent of little hornwort leaves everywhere. I had to clean my filter, take it apart, clean the impeller and then vacuum the tank. I still didn't get it all. Then to top it all off, I found 4 snails. My father-in-law killed them for me. So I am stressed!! And worried about my poor little cory cat.

Any suggestions???

Luniyn

Well Known Member
Reaction score
I'm not a plant expert yet, but because it is plant mater it should soften as it decays until he can either get rid of it or chew it up. I would say you would do more damage to him by trying to handle him then just letting him be. Handling him would definitely harm his slime coat which would cause him a lot of stress. Also trying to control him long enough to not his is barbels with the tweezers.... ouch I'm cringing just thinking about it. I would give it a few days, he should be able to work it out before then. Not an expert opinion... just my 2 cents.

genie

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years