I am getting a GSP & I need all the advice I can get!

Jacklynn
Hello everyone,
So I've welcome myself in the introduction forums, as some of you may have seen I recently got 3 smaller aquariums and I am in the process of setting them up! I made an ad looking for fish near me, and I got a reply from a very nice man who is looking to rehome his 12 year old Green Spotted Puffer. His current owner & I chatted on the phone this evening, and he knows that I am not a fish expert, but he's very willing to teach me everything I need to know, so that's wonderful. We have concluded that perhaps the best method would be for me to come and pick up the 55 gallon tank that he is not using at the moment and bring it back to my house and get the water cycling started for Finnian (that is his name, so cute, apparently he's quite the character!), and than after the water levels are where they should be, then I will go back to his house, pick up Finnian, pick up the 75 gallon tank, bring Finnian home, put him in the 55 gallon (which will be cycled at this point, whenever that may be, his owner is in no rush, he's just getting out of the fish hobby from what it sounds like!) & immediately start setting up the 75 gallon for him to eventually move back into.

Does this all sound like a good plan? Any tips or advice? I realize this little dude is past his average life expectancy, but I would love to see him do well and thrive after the move.

Thanks everyone!

Asomeone
I thought you were talking about green star polyps....but puffers are fun too.
If you haven't already found fishlores page on em Green Spotted Puffer Fish Care - Size, Lifespan, TankMates, Breeding here it is.