Question I Am Considering A Bird, What Types Are Best For A Beginner?

Cherie G

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hi there,
I am considering adding a bird to our family and was looking for input/suggestions as to what type of bird would be best especially since I am a novice to having birds. I did have a parakeet once quite a few years ago and loved and enjoyed having him.I have always wanted to get a bird again and would love any advice. Birds I am considering would be possibly a cockatiel, or one of the smaller types of parrots. I am very much in the beginning stages of research so any and all advice would be welcome, also if there are any sites/forums, recommended reading that you trust I would love & appreciate that info too.

Other pets in our home besides lots of fish are 1 dog and 3 cats (1 cat is an 18 years young gentleman and 2 12 week old kittens)

Thanks!

WyrdCory

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I too have been doing research on getting a bird even though I can only get one once I live on my own (in a few years). I'm pretty sure I want a cockatiel. I found this (Home) wonderful and informative site while looking for Finnish breeders. The site is Finnish but everything (except for some of the articles and blog posts, I think) has been translated into English. I'll definitely get my cockatiel from the writer of this site if she still does breeds cockatiels when it's my time to get one!

Cherie G

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
4 years
Hi Crispii
My preference would be a bird that is social, likes to interact with people and enjoys being handled etc.

Vishaquatics

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I've kept parrots for many years. To fit your requirements, I'd recommend a green cheek conure. They're small, super playful and very affectionate. They're the perfect sized parrot IMO. Parakeets and cockatiels are not nearly as affectionate.