Hydrogen peroxide and black beard algae

1. Jaci Initiate Member

Hi, I'm fairly new to fish keeping and have been battling a black beard algae outbreak. I'm starting to get on top of it but it's on my heater and filter. I was advised that I can soak them in hydrogen peroxide for 10 mins then put them back in and it will die. Is this accurate? Is this safe for my fish? Do I rinse then before putting them back or will this stop it working? Any other suggestions for getting it off my heater and filter?
    Thanks in advance :)

2. varmint Member Member

Welcome,
    Before anyone can help, you need to describe your setup. How big is your tank? How many fish? What are your parameters? What is your water change schedule? We are not trying to make hard on you but need the info, in order to give you answers to your problems.

3. Jaci Initiate Member

No that's fine. I have an 80L (20 gallon) tank. I currently have an angelfish, corydora and 2 kuhli loaches. I have unintentionally caused my cycle to crash . I've just done a massive water change and am letting everything settle before I test the water. It has been up and running fine for around 10 months. I'm not really sure what I did but I assume I've done something wrong in my attempts to kill the BBA. Prior to stuffing the cycle I had 0 ammonia and nitrites and around 10 nitrates. I water change once a week usually.