How Would Celestial Pearl Danios Do In A 29 Gallon Community?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by Dunskap, Apr 11, 2018.

1. Dunskap

Dunskap New Member Member

TmBTLDmgcPb7wDBhJa_ZqUyV7IO1AdsO3oGdffH3JKyP_95EUPurAXytDc_SaImKDUibsw5wpRhYf4F_wQ=w1184-h888-no.jpg Hello all, first post on this site.

I have a 29 gallon tank that's almost done cycling. It's my first time doing a planted tank. The Ludwigia and Pennywort in the back have been growing like crazy

So my plan for a while has been:

3 Honey Gourami (1M2F)
    10-14 Cardinal Tetra
    6-8 Panda Corydora

I think two schools of 7 tetras 2" each would be too chaotic.

Celestial Pearl Danios only get around 0.75-1" but I've heard they're pretty shy. Plus they cost around $4 ea.

So I could do something like
    1 Honey Gourami (1M)
    8-10 Cardinal Tetra
    10-15 Celestial Pearl Danio
    6-8 Panda Corydora

Thoughts on this?
    I'm also open to alternative suggestions for the Cardinals. i.e. Rummynose/Emperor/Silvertip

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 11, 2018
  2. Ohio Mark

Ohio Mark Well Known Member Member

Watching with great interest! Your first stocking plan (Honeys, pandas) are EXACTLY what I'm planning on, but CPD's were the main fish I wanted.

My 29 is cycled. I took my cycling fish out and was eager to place an order for 24 CPD's when a family member gave me a totally unexpected gift -- three blue rams. Now I'm kind of waffling about what to do.

But anyway, I will be watching this to read what others think.

3. OP
    OP
    Dunskap

1. That's funny that you also wanted Honeys and Pandas. Did you want 1 male 2 female as well?

2. Where were you planning on getting the CPDs? Is about $4 each pretty normal?

3. The 3 blue rams is interesting. I was also extremely interested in 3 Apistogramma Cacatuoides/Agassizii. But I'm pretty sure I can't get the Panda Corys if I get them

4. Miaw

Miaw Valued Member Member