How to tell when guppy is going to give birth?

1gamma45
Ok so I am new to guppies. I picked up a pair or fancy ones and I am 100% sure the female is pregers. She is huge and although from her mid back to her tale black the spot is clear and black.

Anyway to my question I see that you guys seem to have guppies on a cycle were they are droping fry every 30days ish. I got this pair on 3/8/08 I can not be sure she was pregnant when I got her but from what I have read it is likely she was.

So how can I tell she is going to pop. I don't wana shock or hurt her moving her to the tank she will birth and the fry will live in till old enough but I also don't wana lose these fry? I am not looking for like she will drop on x/x/x at 13:01. But like a few days would be nice.

At this point has a huge belly flat bottom she is not eating much at all and is kind taking her time getting around and is content to just hang around in 1 spot.

susitna-flower
HI 1GAMMA45! WELCOME TO FISHLORE!

Ahhhh your gonna have babies....gotta love em.

Tell me about your tanks.....The one the pair is in now....how big, is it cycled? Do you have the results of your water tests?

The fry tank....same thing...

IF both tanks are fully cycled, I would suggest getting a medium sized plastic container....scoop her into it along with a little tank water...put some of the tank water in from the other tank, acclimate her just like you do new fish coming home from the LFS....I would do this today....

The reason I say to do it like this is to net her could be a little more traumatic, and you can't acclimate her, and guppies are rather sensitive...

Let her have the babies in the fry tank, hopefully it has some plants in there for cover....Java moss is perfect. Then when she is all done, put her back over....be sure to do water changes in the fry tank about 25% each day, and cover filter and syphon intake with either sponge or mesh material so you don't loose fry.

Have fun, and good luck!

1gamma45