20 Gallon Tank How to tell if you are over-taxing an air pump.

TK Titanium
Hello, I am new to air pumps. I have it all set up but my fish seem to be avoiding it and staying on the other side of the tank far more than usual. I suspect that the flow is too much (or maybe it's just too new and unusual for them). I have a control valve to reduce the flow but I am wondering how far I can reduce it without causing the pump unnecessary strain and how to tell when I'm reaching that point. Thanks in advance.

SouthAmericanCichlids
How long's it been in?

TK Titanium
3 Days in this (final) position. About a week before that in various places.

SouthAmericanCichlids
I think they would've gotten used to it by now, I'd just lower the flow a little bit and then more and more until they start going on that side of the tank.

TK Titanium
Thanks, and is there anything I should be worried about on the pump end of things in terms of reducing the flow? Extra wear and tear or whatnot?

SouthAmericanCichlids
Well I believe by lowing the flow of air, they just lets out the air into the room, instead of not letting the pump send extra so it should be fine, but if yours works differently then I would be worried.

TK Titanium
I doubt it works in any unusual way, it's just a Tetra Whisper 40, a Ziss Valve, and a Ziss Never Clog Airstone. Thanks for your help.

veggieshark
I don't like limiting the pump output, and I don't like letting extra air in the room (more noise). You can use a T splitter and add a sponge filter or another airstone so that they both run at a slower rate. You could also use a larger airstone, like a strip to have an air wall with mild flow.

The2dCour
You need a bleed off to relieve pressure or pump wear will occur if there is back pressure.

Wouldratherwatchaquarium
Just a note if you haven't got one allready and your pump is below the tank.

make sure you fit the one way valve on your airline so water can't siphon back down the tube if pump stops.

TK Titanium