How to tell if it's a real Siamese algae eater?

reds

I'm wondering how to tell if the fish at my local lfs is a real siamese algae eater? It looks similar to pictures on the Internet. It has a weird stripe along the sides from the nose through to the tail. However the stripe looks like zigzag patern, I don't know if that's because it's young? I want to make sure it's a real one.

Sent from my SM-G386W using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

Dom90

I have two of these in my tank right now. The stripe is supposed to go across the whole body and is supposed to be straight. I have heard some LFS sell another species as the SAE, false advertising.

To give you better insight, read this article:

reds

What is the difference between the both? I'm new to the fish hobby. My tank is cycled and I have 2 male cherry barbs and 3 females.

Sent from my SM-G386W using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

Coradee

Chinese algae eaters stop eating algae as they mature & can get aggressive towards their tankmates, they also grow too big for most people's tanks

Siamese algae eaters are truer algae eaters & in the main non aggressive except occasionally towards each other

Dom90

I think the Chinese algae eater only comes in yellow, I could be wrong

But to the OP, you should really observe before you buy. Sometimes stores will do that. Even petco sells "Assorted African cichlids".

In my case, the SAEs I bought are true. The LFS is the biggest, most reliable in the area and has great reviews.

Coradee

I think the Chinese algae eater only comes in yellow, I could be wrong

But to the OP, you should really observe before you buy. Sometimes stores will do that. Even petco sells "Assorted African cichlids".

In my case, the SAEs I bought are true. The LFS is the biggest, most reliable in the area and has great reviews.

The yellow form is I believe a man made colour variety.
If the Op looks at the links I posted #5 it will show the difference between the SAE & CAE