How To Tell If Adf’s Are Doing Well? & Feeding Concerns

Lex1

Reaction score
Two days ago a friend of mine went and got 3 ADF for her tank. The poor things were being terrorized by her other aggressive fish and the store they came from wouldn’t take them back without something wrong with them. I offered to take them before they were killed so I now have the 3 ADF and my betta in a 10 gallon.

I am new to keeping frogs and was not planning on getting any so I don’t know much about them. I don’t know what their normal activity looks like so I’m not sure what thriving frogs looks like. What are good/bad signs in their behavior? Also what’s the best way to feed them with sinking pellets? Right now I’m just putting in way more than I should be around them and hoping they can get it out of the gravel. I don’t even know if they are eating it. They are trying I just can’t tell if they are getting it out.

I went and got them a nice big plant to make sure they would feel safe from Angus (my betta). Thankfully though the frogs and Angus completely ignore each other. I wasn’t planning on frogs but now that I have them I’m enjoying them
IMG_1536.JPG

bitseriously

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
1 year
Good questions, all!
Bettas and african dwarf frog is always a hot topic. My best advice is to keep any eye out, and have a separation plan if any problems. Some have aggressive bettas that go after frog limbs, some have passive betts that get torn up by frogs that think their fins are food. I’m not a betta pro but I’ve heard it can all be fine, until it’s not.
African dwarf frog are confusing beasts. Spending too much time at the surface is supposedly bad, but most of us have had one or more that does that now and then for some time.