How to reset heater?

mirciulie

Folks,

this is my first time here on fishlore.

I've got myself a very nice tank/setup. I think, atleast

Got a 50gal with a Eheim canister filter, Eheim heater-250W, rocks, plants and some fish.

Problem is I did a water change (25%) a couple of days ago and when after reading here that I shouldn't use heated water from the tap due to contaminants from the house water heater, I decided to get it cold instead. And I grabbed the heator from the tank and put it in the bucket. Now, I didn't turn it off when did that, and the bucket water was like 40F. I think I've triggered something into it that it doesn't work anymore.

I looked everywere in here (and google...) about how to reset a heater but couldn't find much. From my understanding there's a thermal anomally memory on it for such situations, which will shut it off. And you need to reset that memory. I unplugged it, left it in the tank for half an hour and turn it back on. I set it to 78F and saw that the light is on. I'm at work right now and can't verify it, but I called the wife and she said the heater is still cold to the touch.

The water is around 68F right now, so I don't think that's too good for my tropical fish.

Can anyone help?

ANd yeah, I'm a newbie, just been lurking around here for a month. Very good site, learn about cycling the tank and all sorts of other good things.

Mike

Blub

Hi!

Is your tank cycled? You should take the Goldfish back to the LFS - they can't live in tropical temperatures.

There should be a little knob you can turn on the top of the heater. That's how to adjust the temp.

mirciulie

Yeah, I adjusted the temp from the top knob, the on light is lit, but the heater doesn't really work.

I read somewhere here that goldfish actually do good on that temp 76F. they can tolerate really cold water, but that doesn't mean they don't like it warm. Correct me if I'm wrong.