How to: Golden Clam Care!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Invertebrates' started by LWormy, Jul 4, 2016.

1. LWormy

LWormy Valued Member Member

Hello guys! I have been keeping Golden Clams (aka Asian clams) for a few years now. I often see a lot of articles on the internet about how hard they are to keep and how they are time bombs that would eventually destroy your carefully monitered tank, but that is simply not true. If you take some time to prepare the tank before you add them and keep your water pristine, they can be extremely tolerant to varying conditions. Here's some simple facts about them:

Size: 1-2"

Color: Anywhere from brown to golden yellow

pH: Some claim they can live in around 6, but I personally keep them in 8.2. Higher pH is more beneficial for their shell. You can mix pieces of grind up cuttlefish bone/snail shell into your substrate to raise your pH and supplement them with calcium. If their shell turns white after you get them (sometimes they come with worn shells so don't worry about that) something is wrong.

Temperature: 60-80, extremely tolerant and as long as oxygen are plenty and slowly acclimated, they can do well in almost any reasonable temperature. They especially like cooler water (60-low 70s)

Water Movement: I have them in a 10 gallon tank with no filter and pump whatsoever and in my 32 gallon with a SunSun 304B Canister and a diy 200 gph refugium. They are very tolerant and despite what people say they don't need fast moving water. However, you want to make sure that you don't filter out all their food in the water. IT IS POSSIBLE to have them in heavily filtered tank but it is very hard so I suggest against that unless you have very messy fish (goldfish) to "dirty up" the tank for you.