How to feed fry?

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by Anji13, Jul 31, 2015.

1. A

Anji13 Valued Member Member

Yayyy.. Finally.. My guppy is giving birth to fry.. :)

How to feed them? They are too tiny to eat flakes..

2. DrSahl

DrSahl Valued Member Member

I can't say for sure with your gubby, but I used to smolder the flakes between my fingers (so it gets very fine) almost like dust and then feed them with that. You should do that after you already fed your other fish normaly.

But again I am no expert so hopefully someone else will come here with and make sure what you can do :D

3. Gekco

Gekco Well Known Member Member

I use Hikari First Bites to feed my fry.

4. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandon Well Known Member Member

I have found that feeding fry live brine shrimp is best for them.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

5. Bijou88

Bijou88 Well Known Member Member

I use flakes crushed into powder, haven't had any problems with it.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

6. BDpups

BDpups Well Known Member Member

Coffee grinders work well for this.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

7. mobaby1231

mobaby1231 New Member Member

Crushing flakes works very well, but I have found that if there are no older babies with them, to show them that the little things floating above are food, they tend to take a while to readily eat it.
    Freshly hatched brine shrimp are perfect for newborns, when the baby shrimp swim in front of them they instinctively eat them, and they will soon learn, when you come near the tank that means food !
    Good luck! :)

8. Bijou88

Bijou88 Well Known Member Member

I always sink some for the little guys, it seems to take fry a few days to figure out how to eat off the surface.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum mobile app

9. shadowfish

shadowfish Well Known Member Member