How To Feed A Puffer?

KaitKat
I have LRS Fish Frenzy for my puffer but he doesn't take more than a bite of it. He's only about 2 inches, in case that's relevant. I've only had him for a few days but the LFS guy said he had been eating it just fine when I got him. I have noticed he doesn't keep his attention on the probably 1 inch or slightly smaller chunk I give to him, he goes for the smaller pieces that break from that floating around the water. Even though he chases them he's only eaten 1 of the smaller chunks.. its almost like he's playing with them. This is my first time using LRS so I'm not sure how much I'm actually supposed to be feeding him... he only eats 1 bite in "1-2 minutes" and I know that's not enough.
So, should I try giving him pea-sized pieces of it instead of a chunk and see how that goes, or is there a better way to do it? That might be a stupid question but I'd rather ask than just do it and end up being wrong

Lorekeeper
Well, if you're giving him a 1 inch chunk of food, and he's two inches, that's way overfeeding. That's like giving a 6 foot tall person a 3 foot chunk of hamburger and asking them to eat it.

I'd break it up into much, much smaller chunks, and drop it front of a filter or pump to see if he likes the "hunt".

Or... depending on how big the chunk he's eaten is, it may be plenty. Take a look at him, and really consider how large his stomach is. Sometimes, we like to overfeed because it seems like so little to us, when in reality, we're stuffing our fish to the brim.

KaitKat
Lorekeeper said:
Well, if you're giving him a 1 inch chunk of food, and he's two inches, that's way overfeeding. That's like giving a 6 foot tall person a 3 foot chunk of hamburger and asking them to eat it.

I'd break it up into much, much smaller chunks, and drop it front of a filter or pump to see if he likes the "hunt".