How to estimate CO2 with high phosphates? Question

Discussion in 'Aquarium Plants' started by catsma_97504, Apr 12, 2010.

1. catsma_97504Fishlore LegendMember

When a tank has high phosphates (> 10 PPM), how can you determine how much CO2 is in your tank? All the charts I've see specifically indicate they are not accurate with phosphates. My tank run 4-6 KH and the ph runs 6.4 - 6.8 with a DIY CO2 system. Thank you for helping me figure out how to determine if I have enough CO2.

I've been fighting GW for a few months now, but it does appear to be clearing up a little bit with the uv sterilizer I recently purchased and the months of phosphate removal products.

2. ryanr

ryanrModeratorModerator Member

You can buy CO2 test kits, they're a little expensive (around $30AUD), but they specifically measure CO2.  

Nutter or Nate will probably pipe in here, as they are better educated in this area. The other info they may want is Nitrate levels

3. pepetj

pepetjWell Known MemberMember

Any idea why your phosphates are so high? You may be overfeeding your tank.

Look, there is an indirect way to know if your DIY CO2 is way overboard or not. Compare the pH reading of your tank before and after CO2. If the variation remains within a full 1.0 it should be safe (e.g. w/o CO2 it's 7.4; w CO2 it's 6.7). If it is greater than that (e.g. w/o CO2 7.7; w CO2 6.4) be careful: your fish may pay the price (unfortunately it happened to me).

You could get (or even better build your own DIY) a drop checker but keep in mind that even the best built has an standard error of measurement of up to 36%. Despite that, it's quite useful for our purposes.

Another way is to just set a floor for KH. Say you feel safe with 2.5 dKH. Eventually your tank may go to 2.0 or even 1.5 dKH. When that happens, partial water changes (small yet frequent is safer than a big one) will solve that.