How To Bring Down Water Temperature From 30c To 28c Using A Aquarium Heater Help

Discussion in 'Heaters' started by Yasar, Jun 21, 2019.

  1. Yasar

    YasarNew MemberMember

    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys

    I have a 25 gallon tank and a 50W heater.
    Currently the water temperature is 30c.
    Heaters led lighting up only if I set the heater nob above 30c but not below 30c,
    But in the heater box it's printed 20c to 32c ? IMG_20190621_181107.
     
  2. richie.p

    richie.pFishlore VIPMember

    Messages:
    4,520
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wales UK
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    Hi welcome to fishlore
    That's the water temp is holding it at 30c set the thermometer at 28 and once the water temp goes below the 28 the thermometer will light up, to test the thermometer turn it off fill a container with cold water set the thermometer to 25ish and put in cold water leave for two minutes then turn on if it working properly the light will come on,
    A little tip raise your filter off the bottom or put s sponge on it otherwise gravel will be sucked up and damage your impeller
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Yasar

    YasarNew MemberMember

    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Richie,

    Thanks for the tip. I'll raise the filter.
    How to lower the temp from 30c to 28c ?
    If I set the heater at 28c. Will the heater bring down the water temperature within a day or two ?
     
  4. Cichlidude

    CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    2,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +1,281
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    What is your ambient temperature in the room?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Yasar

    YasarNew MemberMember

    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0
    30 to 32c
     
  6. Cichlidude

    CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    2,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +1,281
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Sorry, your tank will float to the ambient temperature of what the room is at.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Yasar

    YasarNew MemberMember

    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is there any way to bring down the temperature. I have water movement and o o tried floating ice packs.

    I thought the heater will solve this problem .
     
  8. richie.p

    richie.pFishlore VIPMember

    Messages:
    4,520
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wales UK
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    That's correct even if you start with cold water over time it will rise to your room temp nothing you can do except put a cooler in and they are expensive
     
  9. Cichlidude

    CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    2,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +1,281
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Suggest you try some Aquarium cooling fans.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    Yasar

    YasarNew MemberMember

    Messages:
    8
    Gender:
    Male
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks I'll give it a try.
     
  11. imba

    imbaWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    1,226
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    New South Wales
    Ratings:
    +872
    Your heater can only help increase the tank temperature, but can't help decrease it.

    Just to also let you know, if/when your ambient temperature starts getting lower and you want to keep your tank at 28 degrees, a 50w heater will not likely be enough for a 25g tank.
     
  12. Elkwatcher

    ElkwatcherWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    714
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Vancouver Island BC
    Ratings:
    +757
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Can a member answer if the OP's heater is actually a "submersible" and not an immersible, especially when it has a water level line. I'm curious!
    @richie.p @Cichlidude
     
  13. Cichlidude

    CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    2,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +1,281
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Oh wow! Good catch! Didn't even see that! @Yasar you need to check that heater as it has a water level line and maybe should not be fully immersed as @Elkwatcher says.
     
  14. richie.p

    richie.pFishlore VIPMember

    Messages:
    4,520
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wales UK
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    I think you'll find that line is the minimum level or should not drop below the line, it's got to be fully submersible it would be to dangerous to leave the top not water proof
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Cichlidude

    CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    2,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +1,281
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    True but I just checked my Eheim and is says.... minimum water level. But on the OP picture you may not see the word 'minimum'. And turning the Eheim you won't see the minimum also. Which is what I have, a non submersible heater.

    Edit - Well wait a minute. Maybe it is fully submersible after checking. It's just that it is not fully submersed. My bad. @richie.p I think you are correct.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2019
  16. richie.p

    richie.pFishlore VIPMember

    Messages:
    4,520
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wales UK
    Ratings:
    +2,471
    Experience:
    5 to 10 years
    All Eheim heaters are fully submersible the minimum line is the line where water must not drop below in other words the heater must not dry up below that line
     
  17. Cichlidude

    CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    2,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +1,281
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Yeah, I edited my post. You are correct.
     
  18. Elkwatcher

    ElkwatcherWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    714
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Vancouver Island BC
    Ratings:
    +757
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Thanks @richie.p p and @Cichlidude for clarifying that as I have never submersed the tops of mine that aren't marked submersible for some reason. Most are Eheim's and one I recently bought is marked submersible right on it.
     
  19. Cichlidude

    CichlidudeWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    2,280
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Georgia
    Ratings:
    +1,281
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    Well.... it could have said "Maximum" in which case you would be right.
     
  20. Elkwatcher

    ElkwatcherWell Known MemberMember

    Messages:
    714
    Gender:
    Female
    Location:
    Vancouver Island BC
    Ratings:
    +757
    Experience:
    More than 10 years
    You're just being kind!
     
Loading...
Similar Threads Forum Date
Question Should I Bring This Fish Back? Gouramis Aug 12, 2019
Help Can I Bring Lava Rocks Through Customs? Freshwater Beginners Jul 21, 2019
Help How To Bring Down Ammonia Level In A 30 Gallon Tank Freshwater Beginners Jul 4, 2019
Can I Use A Great Value Walmart Plastic Zip Lock Baggy To Bring A Cory To My Lfs Corydoras Jul 3, 2019
Water Changes To Bring Down High Ph pH Sep 6, 2018
What do you use to bring up KH with R/O water? Reverse Osmosis Filter for Freshwater Jun 29, 2015
How frequently can I do a water change to bring down Nitrates? Live Rock May 14, 2015








Become a Fishlore Member