How often should I take out my plastic plants plants and clean them

Kim007
Sorry everyone I'm new to this, I did my first 25 percent water change, and gravel vac today, my tank has been cycled for two weeks, I'm just wondering if, and when I should take my plastic plants out and give them a scrub, I have 3 guppies, and two ghost shrimp in a 5 gallon.. Is this a monthly thing I should do? I plan on giving my sponge filter a few squeezes in another two weeks..Also should I gravel vac every week? Thanks for the help!!

Demeter
I gravel vac during every water change and I usually do 50% water changes each time. For the plants, only give them a rinse when you feel it's needed. The only fake plants I have are in an African cichlid tank, I just rescaped the entire tank today and gave the plants a good rinse in old tank water. I haven't rescaped the tank in months but that's only when I bother rinsing the decor.

Fisch
How do the plastic plants look like? As long as there are not really as many diatoms or algea, there is no need to clean anything.
Also, at this time you may want to leave the sponge alone as long as it has flow and does not look really dirty. Beneficial bacteria is just starting to grow and cleaning too early may disrupt the cycle.

Kim007
Thank-you so much, when you recommend that AI clean the sponge filter?
Kim007 said:
Demeter said:
I gravel vac during every water change and I usually do 50% water changes each time. For the plants, only give them a rinse when you feel it's needed. The only fake plants I have are in an African cichlid tank, I just rescaped the entire tank today and gave the plants a good rinse in old tank water. I haven't rescaped the tank in months but that's only when I bother rinsing the decor.
Thank-you
Kim007 said:
Demeter said:
Thank-you
Fisch said:
How do the plastic plants look like? As long as there are not really as many diatoms or algea, there is no need to clean anything.