Question How often should i feed as of right now?

lovefishes

Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Ok so im new to fishlore.com and new to posting on anything but videogame threads so be gentle with me lol. i currently have: 1black redfined shark about 2iches, 2prestilla tetras about 1.5inches, 1clown pleco about 3inches, and 1Khulli loach about 2.5inches in my 55g hex tank. my question is how often should i feed? im feeding flakes for the tetras and shrimp pellets for the loach right now and i feed everyother day for both. i have 2 small pieces of driftwood for my clown pleco. am i feeding enuf? or overfeeding? 90% of my expierence with fish has been oscars so im new to community tanks with smaller schooling type fish.

almost forgot: tank has been set up with just pleco in it for around 2months or so. i have a friend that takes care of most of the chemistry stuff for the tank. and the reason i only have a few fish at the moment is because im trying to introduce them slowly to my fairly new setup tank.

Last edited:

LyndaB

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hello and welcome to the Forum!

I think your feeding schedule is fine. Some feed every day, some every other day. As long as you aren't overfeeding at any one time, you'll be fine.

Are you planning on building up your stock, using your current fish? For example, I have 5 kuhli loaches. They really do embrace being in a group, as do the tetras. Keep your shark as a lone shark, though.

Even though you have a friend that takes your readings for you, make sure you know what those readings are. It will prove to be very important if you end up with a sick tank.

And also, it really will be worth it to buy yourself an API Master Kit (liquid) and have your friend teach you how to take readings and keep track of them. We actually keep an Excel spreadsheet in a laptop we keep near the tanks solely for that purpose.

Last edited:

lovefishes

Reaction score
Experience
3 years
thanx for the info