Question how often do you loose fish

gokaran

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi All
I am a beginner at this. Doing it since december 2009
This morning I lost a redwag platy. The reason was not due to any diseases or water quality seems it was a victim of bullying.

This is the 2nd platy i have lost
so since december 2009 till today i have lost 2 fish. so thats 1 every 2.5 months

I would like to hear from all of you. When you started how many fish did you loose and often did you loose fish and the reasons? What about now? what experience do you have in years/months and how often do you loose fish.

nerite0479

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I'm sorry to hear about your platyWhen I first started fish keeping I lost 3 fish.Two were neon tetras and they got eaten by the angelfish.The 3rd was a kissing gourami.I'm guessing something was wrong with the fish when I got it(it came from wal-mart) because all of my other fish were fine.Today I have been fish keeping for around 2 years and surprisingly I have not had a fish die after those 3 I lost.Everybody loses a fish eventually

Aquarist

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Good morning,

Sorry to hear about your losses. When I started into the hobby many years ago, I lost a lot of fish. However, the information available back in the 1960's (and until fairly recently) just didn't exist.

I lost 15 Discus about 10 to 12 years ago due to a 3 day power outage and before Fish Lore

Most of my losses in the past 10 years have been due to old age (not mine but the fish lol)

Sometimes you may experience equipment malfunctions resulting in fish loss, sometimes fish take the leap of faith and flee the tank. Water quality issues are a major cause of fish loss. Too, you don't always know how old a fish is when you buy it or it could be diseased prior to you making the purchase.

Ken

gokaran

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started