How Much Of A Temperature Fluctuation Is Normal? Question

Discussion in 'Heaters' started by Sokonomi, Apr 16, 2019.

1. SokonomiValued MemberMember

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to this whole aquarium thing, and i'm not sure if im doing things right.
    It seems with my current setup the temperature drops a whole degree celsius at night,
    going from 24.1'c at noon to about 23.1'c when I wake up.

Most of the fish I intend to keep will be comfortable in the range of 21 to 26,
    but i'm not sure if that means they are ok with the temps fluctuating daily.
    How much can fish comfortably tolerate?

For reference, my tank is a standard juwel primo 70L with a 50w heater built into the filter.

2. DoubleDutchFishlore LegendMember

Hey fellow countryman,

Not any problem for the fish. I'd say it is even better (most of my tanks are unheated)

It is strange though the heather doesn't keep the temp steady / doesn't seem to cope.

Greetings Aad

3. SokonomiValued MemberMember

I guess as long as they stay within min~max parameters they should be alright.
    Water gets colder at night in the wild, too, I think.

I was just wondering if a 'pewny' 50w heater can manage a 70L tank.
    Its in my bedroom so it ll never have to deal with actual winter temps,
    but night time hitting 17'c is not unheard of for my home.
    It will have to manage heating 70L for +7'c.

4. DoubleDutchFishlore LegendMember

Mmmmm info tells 50W heathers can decently heath uptill 50 litres.
    Still think it is strange it drops. It should start heathing and keep it up if surroundings might dropp to 17C.
    Is there a decent waterflow in the filtercompartment where it is in?

My unheated tanks drop to 17C in winter.
    Depending on fishspecies that isn't an issue. My cories, oto's don't.mind.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 16, 2019
  5. SokonomiValued MemberMember

The filter is only 300L/h, so there isnt an awful lot of it, but this is necessary for the low flow fish I want.