How much filtration am i getting?

Pfrozen

Well Known
Hi, I'm currently running an aqueon single port 40g pump with the multistage box filter pictured below. I have a 10g hob on this tank as well. Total volume of tank is 10g.
Any idea how much filtration the box filter gives me in GPH? Aqueon doesn't specify the flow of this pump but the tetra equivalent is only about 20 GPH. Seems a bit low and I dont know if aur volume = water displaced.

Thanks

Attachments

OP
P

Pfrozen

Well Known
richiep said:
Is that just plane gravel in that filter
Dunno, it's a mix of different gravel and ceramic beads that came with it. I didn't bother changing it out. Doesn't seem to bother the fish at all so far, but I'm new at this. Should I remove it? I also have ceramic beads in my HOB filter

Looks like there might be a few bits of lava rock in it as well

Tallen78

No i
Pfrozen said:
Dunno, it's a mix of different gravel and ceramic beads that came with it. I didn't bother changing it out. Doesn't seem to bother the fish at all so far, but I'm new at this. Should I remove it? I also have ceramic beads in my HOB filter

Looks like there might be a few bits of lava rock in it as well
No it’s all surface area for ur bb to grow on but it does look like plain gravel which isn’t a bad thing that filter should handle a 10g with no problem u can increase the flow with more air

richiep

Fishlore VIP
What is wrong with it is the way its setup, your gravel should be together your black sponge together then the white floss so if the flow is from the bottom up you place the black sponge at the bottom with the white floss directly on top then your media as the last stage, this will give you the best performance

OP
P

Pfrozen

Well Known
richiep said: