How Much Do You Feed Your Fishes?

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by Vancouver Mike, Aug 7, 2019.

1. Vancouver Mike

Vancouver MikeValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +81
    Experience:
    Just started
    I feed twice a day 6 days a week.
    Staple is flake and dried bloodworm mix Satureday is fasting day.
    I also feed them blood worms,brine,mysis.
    Recently started giving grean beans from the can! My pleco likes it best
    Sunday I feed them a pea mush that helps keep them regular, which I've found to be helpful after having fish fall ill to swim bladder.
    Just Google "feed my fish peas" and you'll see the recipe which only takes a few mins to make and is a healthy mush your fish enjoy.

I'm still fairly new to the hobby so I'd like to hear your thoughts on feeding ie; how many times, how much, what your staple food is.
    My tank is a 65G with 28 fish

2. Joshuaharestad

JoshuaharestadValued MemberMember

Ratings:
    +86
    Experience:
    1 year
    I have a goldfish tank and a bichir tank. Sounds like you're mixing up food types which is good for variety. I feed once in the morning and once at night. I don't do a fasting day. But I also only feed a few pinches per feeding. Ive heard some fish get more mean when hungry so I try to make sure they always at least get a few bites. Most importantly make sure all the fish are actually getting food. When my fish stop eating then I know something is wrong. Hope that helps some.

3. OP
    OP
    Vancouver Mike

Ratings:
    +81
    Experience:
    Just started
    I feel the same way about fish getting mean/cranky when not getting plenty to eat, but I have a community tank and some of my fish can get nippy so o feel like this is one way to help minimize it.
    I do weekly water change, which could prob be punched to every 2 weeks if I only fed once a day perhaps?
    Anyhow thanks for your input

4. scarface

scarfaceFishlore VIPMember

Ratings:
    +7,270
    Experience:
    Just started