How Many Plecos In 75g Tank

1. Alphafish98

Alphafish98 Valued Member Member

hello, can someone tell how many plecos I can keep in a 75 gallon tank. I’m thinking of putting my clown pleco in it and later getting a bristle nose pleco too, is there anymore I can put or is that it? And also will I need to get another piece of driftwood as well, I only have one in the 75g.

2. Little fry babies

Little fry babies Valued Member Member

It depends on the size and species of the pleco but ive read forums on that and was told to not keep more than one in a tank .Idk whether that is true or not as i am new to being into this hobby. Others may be more of help on this topic .

3. TexasDomer

TexasDomer Fishlore Legend Member

With enough driftwood and caves, you should be fine keeping a BN pleco and a clown pleco together in your tank. I'd feed them in separate areas though, so they're not competing for food.

What else is in the tank?

4. OP
    OP
    Alphafish98

It’s a family tank we’re gonna put angelfish, neon tetras and yes I know that’s a bad idea my family wants to put them anyway, we’re also getting Cory catfish some snails, few mollies and a swordtail maybe fan shrimp. And I know some may not be good but I wanna test it.

5. Little fry babies

Honestly that's a fine assortment of fish .I have juli cories, one gold dust molly, three albino glow light tetras, two mockey mouse platies, a swordtail and a one blue mickey mouse platy. In my 65 gallon i am going to have angels, yoyo loach, clown loach, black ghost knife fish(maybe) maybe not since they are aggressive towards certain fish, and i wanted redtail and rainbow sharks .But if i get a black ghost knife most likely shouldn't get sharks .Lol .Anyway, i like your assortment of fish .Good tankmates. I see nothing wrong with it.

6. OP
    OP
    Alphafish98