How Many Fish - Updated

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by sharmander, Apr 9, 2019.

1. sharmanderNew MemberMember

2. kallililly1973Well Known MemberMember

I’m not a stocking pro but I can already see things not going well with this thread... Nets flying sponge filters being swung around by their air lines heater going up to 120 degrees.. it just not going to be good

3. GiulWell Known MemberMember

Given your current choice in fish I would say no, you can’t. Unfortunately a single bristlenose needs a 20 gallon tank because they need the biofilm to graze on, and they can be territorial so you may see some fighting. Skirt tetras are bigger tetra so they would also prefer a bigger tank.

I’m sorry if someone else gave you the advise to combine these guys, but it is too much for a 10 gallon. If you’re able to return or swap out fish then we can suggest a much more livelier/colorful tank that would love 10 gallons

4. nikm128Fishlore VIPMember

Unfortunately, both species will outgrow your tank space. A 20 long would be much better and you could do at least 6 white skirt tetras, and maybe another species of middle swimming fish

5. AquaticJFishlore VIPMember

With your current stock, being that bristlenose reach about 6 inches each and can be territorial, I’d personally say you should have at least 29 gallons and hope your Plecos are male and female.

6. sharmanderNew MemberMember

Lol I know eh just want snails again!

Looking to trade my white skirts local pet store said they were the same as the neons

Well unless you would suggest something other than the Neons I think they're the smallest though

7. GiulWell Known MemberMember

8. nikm128Fishlore VIPMember

Cardinal tetras, most rasboras
    I can't even fathom how they'd act like neons and white skirts grew to the same size

9. sharmanderNew MemberMember