How Many Fish For A 3.5 Gallon Aquarium?

Ruby M.
I have been thinking for awhile to get fish, and we were thinking a 3.5 gallon tank. The reason why we don’t want a larger tank is that they are too heavy, and we don’t have anywhere to put it. I am a beginner to fish, I had some when I was really little, but I don’t remember those. We were thinking 2 tetra and a ghost shrimp. Is that suitable?

WTFish?
I think a single Betta and maybe a snail or a shrimp tank would be cool, that’s a pretty small tank to work with.

2211Nighthawk
No to tetras. They are a scooping fish and needs room and others of the same species. Shrimp would work, if suggest cherries over ghost, they stay way smaller and you can have more.

Ruby M.
I think a single Betta and maybe a snail or a shrimp tank would be cool, that’s a pretty small tank to work with.
How many ghost shrimp could I fit in there?

No to tetras. They are a scooping fish and needs room and others of the same species. Shrimp would work, if suggest cherries over ghost, they stay way smaller and you can have more.
Ok. Could I fit any fish in a 5 gallon tank?

WTFish?
How many ghost shrimp could I fit in there?
I agree with 2211Nighthawk about cherry shrimp over ghost, although I know nothing about ghosts, cherrys are small and easy and much prettier imo...I’d say start with 10 maybe? They’ll breed quick. I’d make sure it’s completely cycled first. Use a sponge filter and live plants.

Ruby M.
I agree with 2211Nighthawk about cherry shrimp over ghost, although I know nothing about ghosts, cherrys are small and easy and much prettier imo...I’d say start with 10 maybe? They’ll breed quick. I’d make sure it’s completely cycled first. Use a sponge filter and live plants.
What is a sponge filter?

WTFish?