How Many Fish After Cycle

mgrav21

Hi, this is my first post but I just finished a fishless cycle and after getting my water tested I’m ready to add fish. This is my first tank and it’s a 40 gallon breeder that I want to stock with about 10 Amano shrimp, 16 or so cardinal tetras, a bristlenose pleco, and 2-3 dwarf gourami. What order and how many of these fish should I first add to my tank since they cycle has completed??

Salem

I am not entirely sure on your current stocking plans but I am not experienced in community tanks- you may want to look into each individual fish to see what their requirements are. Tank size, if they like to be in groups, temperature, etc

I personally like to start slow with stocking. I like to add the ones that will have the smallest bioload first then slowly over time add the others. The most important thing is to not add them all at once or else you will mess up the cycle. I personally like to wait about 1-2 weeks between adding fish. You may also want to quarantine them.

jmarcf

I would start very slowly. Maybe just the tetras to begin with.

Brizburk

I'd do the amano shrimp and 8 tetras to start.

You'll have an ammonia spike, that's normal. Do frequent water changes. When your ammonia levels out to 0, add Gourami. You'll see another ammonia spike, it's actually quite fascinating to see the nitrogen cycle at work. After your cycle stabilizes again add your remaining fish.

You should be able to add plants at any point. The more fish the happier your plants will be.

Congrats on being so patient. I wasn't. I got filter media out of an established tank and threw fish in the next day - I cheated

david1978

Hopefully you mean 1 male and 2 female dwarf gouramI since its not recommended to have more then one male per tank due to aggression.

christiangrenier

Try not to overstock it...

mgrav21