How Many Bettas? Question

1. The_River_Daughter

The_River_Daughter New Member Member

a friend of mine wants to get into fish-keeping. She's thinking about a 10g, and wants to know how many female betta's will fit into one. I always kept my seprate, cuz both of mine have horrible tempers. how many bettas?

2. bryangar

bryangar Well Known Member Member

Your friend can use a divider and separate 2 bettas in the 10 gal. giving them 5 gals each.

3. jdhef

jdhef Moderator Moderator Member

Some people will keep several female bettas in a tank (it is refered to as a sorority tank), but the minimum recommend tank size would be a 20g long. But this is not something an inexperienced fish keeper should attempt. (Heck, I've been keeping fish for over 10 years this time around and I wouldn't attempt it.)

The odds of something going wrong are pretty high and you need to have a backup plan if you need to break up the sorority. So that means a bunch of small tanks ready to go.

4. OP
    OP
    The_River_Daughter

The_River_Daughter New Member Member

But she wants a female community tank. This may not be possible, cuz some female bettas have nasty tempers,

5. jdhef

jdhef Moderator Moderator Member

I would say most female bettas have a nasty temper.

6. david1978

david1978 Fishlore VIP Member

Its recommended a 20 long to have any betta with other bettas or other fish. Even the peaceful ones that are in community tanks can and do have grumpy days. It gives everybody involved a little more room to get away from each other.

7. DuaneV

DuaneV Well Known Member Member

1 in a 10 gallon. If she divides it, split it in half and she can put 1 in each section as long as they cant see each other and jump the divider.

8. kayla20johnson

kayla20johnson Valued Member Member

I must have gotten lucky with my two! They are both very mellow and laid back

9. DuaneV

Id say youre either lucky or they havent been together long enough.

10. bryangar

bryangar Well Known Member Member