How many Bettas in a 55 w/ my neons?

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by austinthefishkeeper, Aug 8, 2015.

1. austinthefishkeeper

austinthefishkeeperNew MemberMember

I own a 55 gallon tank with 30+ neon tetra. I was wondering if I could put 2 or more bettas in the tank. Does gender matter? Because I heard 2 males will fight to the death. Would it be different with 2 females or 1 male and 1 female? Or maybe even 3 females 1 male? Thx!

2. BDpups

BDpupsWell Known MemberMember

Welcome to the forum :)

I'm sure some Betta keepers will come along and help with your questions. Betta aren't my thing.

3. MtnTiger

MtnTigerWell Known MemberMember

Well I'm no betta expert but I would not keep a male in any community tank. I do feel females would be ok.

4. AquaticBrandon

AquaticBrandonWell Known MemberMember

Welcome to Fishlore!
    I wouldn't add the bettas to the tank. The betta will probably kill your neons. If I'm not mistaken, males and females should only be kept together when breeding. IMO, bettas aren't really for community tanks. They are best kept alone in their own tanks .

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

5. Flowingfins

FlowingfinsFishlore VIPMember

Welcome to fishlore!
    Bettas are not going to be a good fish for this tank. Bettas have long fins the tetras may nip at and a bad temper. If you really want a betta, I suggest a nice heated, filtered, 5 gallon. Males and females should not be kept together unless it's for breeding purposes. Females can be kept in a sorority(9+ females) but that should be left to the experts. Sororities usually fail due to the bettas fighting.

6. OP
    OP
    austinthefishkeeper

What if I get only one? But I also have a few hiding places. I have a cave, 2 logs, and a rock with some holes through it on the bottom of the tank.

7. BornThisWayBettas

BornThisWayBettasFishlore VIPMember

Welcome to Fish Lore!!! Nice to meet you! :)