How long can I wait to upgrade to a bigger tank? 10 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Angelfish' started by mcurtissdsu, Mar 24, 2010.

1. m

mcurtissdsu Well Known Member Member

Hi all,

This is my first time trying fishkeeping. I bought some fish back in December from Petsmart. Was WAY overstocked for a 10 gallon. I've lost 4 of the 7 fish I started with :( I'm left with 2 guppies and an angelfish now. Since becoming a Fishlore member, it's come to my attention that my angelfish will eventually need to be in at least 30 gallons.

Currently, he's pretty small, only 1.5" long and tall. I live in a very cramped house right now and don't know where I would set up a 30 gallon tank. However, I'll be moving into my own place on May 1st.

He's been in the 10 gallon this entire time and, after losing so many fish already, I don't want to lose him too. Would I pushing my luck if I wait until May to buy a tank and start cycling?

2. Shawnie

Shawnie Fishlore Legend Member

if your angel is only 1.5 inche long after 3 months, you can tell the tanks too small :( it should be larger after that amount of time..what size was it when you got it? not seen angels sold much smaller than 1.5

3. Meenu

Meenu Fishlore VIP Member

I have a 30 gallon, and it is too short for an angel. You want a tank that is at least 17 inches tall. A 30 is 16 inches tall. Make sure you know the measurements of what you are buying. Angels like height - they need the space so the fins can grow well.

As far as when you would do the move, it is really up to you, obviously the sooner the better. If the angel starts to really grow, and the tank is too small, his fins will grow wrong. If it were my fish, I would probably rehome him or return him to the store, and then get another angel when I had enough space. But really, you have to decide.

4. OP
    OP
    m