How long can fish survive transport?

Cambrianexplosion24

Hi guys! So I'm pretty sure the answer to this question is highly variable and depends on a whole bunch of things but this is my first time actually ordering fish online and having them shipped to me so I don't know a lot about how this works and what precautions sellers generally take.

I ordered two golden dwarf acara cichlids (nannacara anomala) and the site says they'll be about 9 months old so I would assume juveniles. I don't know how hardy they are, especially at that age.

I ordered them on September 12th and the estimated delivery time was 1 or 2 days.
I really wish the seller used Fedex which I have had great experience with in the past ordering reptiles, amphibians and arachnids but instead they went with USPS which in my experience is agonizingly slow and unreliable even when it's supposed to be priority mail.

I've been tracking the package and it was processed at a distribution center on the 14th.
Based on my tracking the package looks like it sat at the distribution center for over 24 hours, but now I'm confused because it's saying the shipping label has been created and USPS awaits the item, so for all I know maybe the seller just now packaged the fish and sent them. Of course apparently that was also on the 14th and I'm just seeing it now so maybe it just takes a while for updates to appear.
Still, it's been two days and if I know the postal service it might just take even longer.

So my question is, if in fact the fish have been in the package for this long are they losing oxygen?
How long can they generally survive in transit?
With the shipping costs and the addition of the heating pack and Styrofoam box this was an expensive order so I'm really hoping they aren't dead.