How long can fish go without food? 20 Gallon Tank

1. ApolloX54 Member Member

I have some Cories and Danios and was wondering how long they can go without food. Cause I just went a week without feeding them. Turkey Day... I feel so bad stuffing myself and they had nothing. :(. But Christmas Break is coming up and for me that is at most a few days short of a month that I won't be able to tend my fishies.

I was going to set up a 10 Gal to hold them during the break but I'm gonna be away from home most of it. I was thinking about getting those white feeders... I think they make a 14 day one... and then just go without for the other two weeks.

Good Idea?

2. gremlin Well Known Member Member

As long as they are well fed, they should be fine for a while. You can try a weekend/vacation feeder, but I have no experience with them. If there is any algae in the tank, they will feed off that also. Is there anyone who can tend them while you are gone? At least once a week?

3. fishingman001 Well Known Member Member

depending on the size some fish can go up to 2 weeks without food. A feeder should work but it might make the water messy. It would be better if a person can come over to feed the fish.

4. bolivianbaby Fishlore Legend Member

The OP asked a question. He didn't say he was going to, he is searching for information. No reason to be disrespectful.

Apollo, from the information I've gathered, it's usually recommended to not have the fish go without food for more than seven days.

If you brought them home in the 10g, would you be able to to feed them once every seven days? Also, if you brought them home, you'd be able to keep an eye on the water parameters and keep up with your water changes.

Just a few thoughts and I hope this helps!

5. harpua2002 Fishlore VIP Member