How Do You Measure LED Lighting

1. davidinvt Initiate Member

I am new to this forum, but not new to the hobby.
    I have been keeping reef tanks for more than 20 years now and recently gotten interested in the whole LED craze.
    I have build several light fixtures with various LEDs that I bought online and am curious if anyone knows how to measure the Kelvin temperature and intensity of the lights. The manufacture of the lights gives specs but as we all know water does crazy things to lights and I would like to know how to adjust my lighting but need to measure it first. Any thoughts folks?
    Dave

2. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

welcome to the forum

Is the tank planted? There are just now coming out LED lights for planted tanks.

The thing to compare would be the effective lumens, since that is the measure of visible light.

3. davidinvt Initiate Member

Well its a reek tank so by default i would guess i would yes its planted though no specifix plants.

4. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

Oh, I thought you were starting a freshwater tank. A mod will move your thread to the saltwater area, where you will get better responses.

5. Butterfly Moderator Moderator Member

I personally have a terrible time explaining this so I will refer you to an article that helps me understand lighting things. http:///Aquarium_Lighting.html
    It's a little long but read the whole thing and I think it will answer your question.
    Carol

6. juice303 Member Member

check to see if the package gives you a P.A.R. value you want to be somewhere between 400 and 700.

7. Stang Man Well Known Member Member

Welcome to Fishlore!!!