How do you dispose of your deceased fish?

1. jsmaples Initiate Member

:( I'm just getting started and I was just curious as to how you "dispose" of your fish when they go "fin-up"?  I hate flushing them down the toilet, but I'm not sure what else to do.  I've gone through quite a few in the start-up process and it's a little depressing. 

2. Dino Fishlore VIP Member

Most here are put in the compost heap.
    A few, like my 11 year old, 16 inch pacu, have a grave.

Dino

3. Miss Mouse Well Known Member Member

i bury them.. I cant bare to just flush or chuck them :-[

4. Butterfly Moderator Moderator Member

Go under the flowers ;)
    Carol

5. BettaBuddy ~ Miley Well Known Member Member

i live in a appt so i can't bury him if he were to die so i have to flush em.... :'( Aquamarine :'( Happy Chef :'( Skittles
    i actually had to throw aqua into the dumpster sad sad sad Miley :(

6. chickadee Fishlore VIP Member

I have a betta burial ground and I have decided that if one should die during bad weather while it cannot be buried, then they get very well wrapped and put in a can in the freezer until thaw. No flushing for me.

Rose
    :(

7. 0morrokh Fishlore VIP Member

Mine go under the rocks in the rock garden. There is a place under a large, pretty rock where all my fishies are buried.

8. BettaBuddy ~ Miley Well Known Member Member

that actually a good idea - my mom has OCD though and would freak if i did that! lol Miley

9. Italy Gal Initiate Member

i scoop them up with a net, and flush them.

10. AlfaBetta Member Member

For me it's either the trash or the toilet. Most of the time it's the trash. I think flushing down the toilet is a more clean method.

11. Eskielvr Member Member