How Do I Put My Tank On The Right Track?

Discussion in 'Saltwater Beginners' started by Heisenberg430, Jul 9, 2019.

1. Heisenberg430

Heisenberg430New MemberMember

I am brand new to the marine fish hobby. My tank is a 75 gallon FOWLR (dry rock). Here is my messy situation:

1) I mixed Instant Ocean Salt into a 5 gallon bucket and repeated the process. However, I used tap water with conditioner, which I thought was okay since this video used it: . I am having second thoughts now, because I'm reading that RODI water is much safer for fish. I thought I didn't need it, because I plan on only running FOWLR, no interest in corals. Is RODI water the only way to go? My tap water source is in Boone County, KY, if any you want to research the tap water quality here. If I switch to RODI water, do I have to completely take out the current water or can I gradually replace it?

2) I am getting very low salinity readings in my tank, well below the safe zone. How exactly do I raise the salinity levels? Because I'm sure you just don't pour salt directly into the tank.

3) I am using a canister filter, a Fluval 306. But I am now reading that they are a bad filtration system for saltwater fish. Is a canister filter acceptable for a 75 gallon FOWLR tank? I am trying to educate myself on sumps but they look very complicated to setup and I'm not sure I'm adept enough to set that up. What options do I have for filtration?

My tank is nowhere near fish ready, so it's not like I have fish to worry about. Also, I only put four dry rocks into the tank. I figured I could just add more as time goes on. Thanks in advance!

2. david1978

david1978Fishlore LegendMember